Are you sexually active?

Are you sexually active question

I read a post on Reddit earlier this morning and it really made me smile so much it actually hurts.

It sort of reminds me a similar conversation with a consultant I had a while back.

It also makes a good point that when dealing with medical professionals and you’re polyamorous, that you need to be honest and truthful with them. It could save your life or one of your partners.

The nurse asked this very standard question when I went to the doctor yesterday. Here’s how the conversation went:

Her: “Are you sexually active?”

Me: “Yes.”

Her: “With a male or a female?”

Me: “Both.”

Her: “Oh! So you’re dating a male but you have free rein to play with females?”

Me: “No, I’m in a polyamorous relationship with two men and one woman, and my girlfriend is also dating my boyfriends.”

Her: “… how do you spell that?”

Me: “P-O-L-Y-A-M-O-R-O-U-S.” (while she types it into my chart)

Her: “I’m bi too. That sounds interesting, I’m going to have to look into that.”

And this is when I’m so glad that (even though I live in the Bible Belt) I live in a fairly progressive, liberal area. I can’t even imagine trying to have that conversation in a conservative small town in Texas. And at least I won’t be accidentally outed. :-p

Original post: Are you sexually active?

Leave a comment