Things you don’t want to hear during a first date

first date

The first date is where things begin and its generally always a good idea to try and get things off to a good start.

A few basic things to remember

  1. Keep yourself busy before the date to help eliminate nerves
  2. Always choose a public or familiar place to meet where you’ll feel comfortable and secure
  3. Tell at least one firend who and where your meeting, also when you expect to be back
  4. Try and get to know the person before you met, this will help keep the conversation flowing
  5. Dress to impress but don’t go over the top
  6. Arrive on time, no one likes being made to wait
  7. Enjoy the date and try to have fun
  8. Try to asking questions about values and feelings rather than just facts
  9. Take the time to listen, you may learn more by simply relaxing and listening to your date
  10. End the date is important too, If you’d like a second date  tell them! If your not sure something like “It’s been lovely meeting you, I really enjoyed it.” leave the door open.

However, things can sometimes go very wrong and here are a few potential red flag statements to look out for 😉

“I was almost engaged this time last week”

“I’ve never been in a serious or or long term relationship”

“You look so like my ex”

“You look so much nicer in your pictures”

“I don’t own a toothbrush”

“You’d really like my parole officer”

“Would you mind if I asked our waitress for her phone number?

“Sorry that’s my partner calling, they think I’m at work”

“Can you believe that they put a restraining order on me?”

“Glad you picked this pub, I’ve been banned from the rest around here”

“My ex is in prison for assault, they get so jealous when I date”

“I just don’t believe in washing”

“Have you ever thought what it would be like to just disappear?”

“Just ignore mum, she follows me everywhere”

“Would you like to met my parents tomorrow?”

“Can you lend my some money?”

“I’m so glad your my first kill”

4 thoughts on “Things you don’t want to hear during a first date

      1. You asked for it! It wasn’t a first date, it was the first time I took an very interesting lady to bed. She had simply amazing oral skills. Here in America, we describe such a talent as ‘being able to suck a baseball bat through a garden hose.’ (I imagine that a cricket wicket would be the equivalent in the UK) When I sufficiently recovered, I asked, “WHERE did you learn how to do THAT?!” She non-chalantly answered, “Oh, from my father.” I got up my clothes and bolted.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

