Polyamory and seasonal holidays

Seasonal holidays - Bah humbug

I really haven’t been in the right mood to write anything really meaningful over the last few months. Life has been a bit difficult to be honest, especially due to the changes going on within one of my relationships.

I won’t go into too much detail but things are really starting to improve after some tough conversations. It’s amazing how polyamory can cause you to really take a long hard look at facets of your life and relationships that you’ve either overlooked or neglected.

Anyway, I digress and really need to get back on topic.

Second only to excellent communication skills in the avid polyamorus practitioners survival kit is time management.

The Christmas holidays have got to be the toughest time if you’re poly and split across a distance. The holiday becomes quite a chore, trying to balance everyone’s needs and if your not careful, you end up having a really crappy time personally too.

I’m currently proposing to spend Christmas with my kids and wife, I’ll then head down south for work and spending new years with my girlfriend.

Not perfect by any means but the best I can do without working out how to clone myself.

I must admit I personally hate the seasonal holidays, I generally get to do neither what I want or what I like so I lose out on all counts.

Bah humbug ๐Ÿ˜‰

10 thoughts on “Polyamory and seasonal holidays

  1. I understand! We are trying to figure out the holiday now. It’s almost like divorced parents, “ok I spent it with you last year so now it over there this year”. It’s not fun all the time and can be hard on everyone. I almost just want to spend it alone lol

    Like

      1. No you aren’t. It’s perfectly ok. I know it shouldn’t be that way. However it has become that way. I am expected to just go with it and not as much. Him and his other, well her mostly, will usually make the schedule for them and us.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sorry about that. But thanks for mentioning it. If I find the right people I might be in intimate emotion relationship with several people so it’s nice to know what bumps could be ahead in that.

    Also, this is kinda random but your writing makes me feel that you are really cute.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If something I write helps someone, the blog has done it’s job. I don’t have all the answers, I make mistakes because I’m human but I learn from them and own my own shit.
      As to being cute, I guess my partners think so lol ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Like

Leave a Reply

