Three little questions

Three rocks in a stack

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking over the course of this weekend and it all sits around three simple questions.

  1. What do I want?
  2. What do I need?
  3. What do I desire?

These three little questions are probably the most important ones that I ask myself repeatedly on a regular basis.

My answers may not change very often, but when they do I then have to make a few critical decisions.

  • Do I want to change?
  • Do I need to change?
  • Do I desire to change?

Do you notice a theme developing?

The results of my actions or inactions at this point have a potential to heavily impact my life and those around me, so require careful consideration.

Change purely for change sake it not really a good idea and in my personal experience not a sensible course of action. However, change that has a positive impact upon my life is something I like to embrace, but the ramifications of those changes upon other people also needs to be considered.

It’s all about being mindful, taking responsibility for our actions and subsequent consequences.

Fear of change can be paralysising, it restricts our ability to develop and grow. We have to accept that nothing can stay the same forever and when change becomes obviously necessary, we then owe it to ourselves to make a decision and act upon it.

So ask yourself today after you’ve finished reading this the following questions

“What do I want, need and desire?”

You might be surprised by your answers.

2 thoughts on “Three little questions

Leave a Reply

