The truth will set you free

The truth will

This week has been a bit tough, but I finally got something off my chest and it went pretty well, I finally told my mother that I’m poly.

I’m not really sure how I expected it to play out, but it felt good to finally come clean and explain how I feel and why.

As the saying goes “The truth will set you free”.

I only wish that I’d had the courage to do it before, but there never seemed like a good time, perhaps there never is if it’s not done right at the beginning.

In the past I’ve experienced many different reaction range from support and understanding, down to judgemental ridicule and disgust.

I’m feeling a lot more positive about many things, but life is forever changing and evolving as I travel through it. I know now that polyamory is a positive factor in my life, it’s made me think so much more about myself and other people.

It’s true that it’s not for everyone, but nothing ever is. We all have different needs, wants and desires, we should always take the time to listen to them. These are the potential clues that will lead us to better, fuller and happier lives.

I know that the path I have chosen is not considered to be a social norm, but in the word’s of Bob Dylan

“Come mothers and fathers throughout the land
And don’t criticize what you can’t understand
Your sons and your daughters are beyond your command
Your old road is rapidly agin’
Please get out of the new one if you can’t lend your hand
For the times they are a’ changin’!”

5 thoughts on “The truth will set you free

  1. A friend came out as poly this week to her posse on FB. Although i shared in a private message, i let her know that she has a poly sister in me as well. Freeing, indeeed!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

