Compersion for my wife

Poly open heart and compersion

Last night was a really interesting evening, while I was travelling down south for work and to see my girlfriend, I had a long chat with my wife.

She asked me if it was okay if she did a phone call with someone she’s been chatting with via email and IM, I should add I was already aware of this person and it’s not an issue.

I was actually really happy she asked and even more happy to say yes. She’s had a tough week with post holiday drop and work, so it seemed like a perfect distraction.

I got down to my girlfriend’s and we just had a relaxing evening chatting and catching up which was good. The conversation eventually drifted onto my wifes chat and my girlfriend asked if I was feeling jealous.

I had to think about this for a few seconds and then started to smile, the answer was crystal clear to me “No”, in fact I’d go as far as saying quite the opposite. I actually felt happy for my wife and that she was starting to explore a potential new relationship, I want her to feel that NRE feeling of get when you met someone new. I want her to understand how is it can be to become overwhelmed by it or ride it’s wave and task that wonderful feeling.

I believe in that moment I had my first true taste of compersion and it felt so good. I was happy that she was happy and love her dearly.

3 thoughts on “Compersion for my wife

  1. I’ve actually never encountered this word before, so thank you for adding to my vocabulary. I am not sure if I am capable of the feeling myself. I’m just not wired for poly, but I genuinely appreciate and respect the unique joy that it brings to families who embrace it. Thank you for sharing your first. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It’s not often that you can take a breath, look back and realize “I’ve grown!” You certainly have and congratulations from us!

    Sara Jane

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

