You Are Not as Poly or Mono As You Think

Locks on relationships - locks on a fence

The interesting suggestion that people are just not as poly or mono as they think, was made a few days back and really got my attention. I suspect that is because it’s fundamentally true in most cases.

The human ability to hold and evaluate multiple incompatible concepts, philosophical views and beliefs never ceases to amaze me, it defines what it is to be human in my opinion.

I’m inclined to believe there will always be a bit of us that yearns for either mono or poly depending upon our choice. Not because it’s any better but just maybe because it different.

Each relationship archetype had it benefits and draw backs, but both confirm our very human need to connect with people and build meaningful relationships.

Effectively I’ve been a serial monogamist, I like the connection and commitment that you just don’t get from hookups, endless dating or one-night stands. Figuring out how polyamory could solve that dilemma made me pretty much becomes a instant convert.

I’ve found my happy place, my sweet spot my personal version of relationship bliss.

I salute all those who embrace the building of meaningful and lasting relationship with those they love, be they poly or mono.

The following article set me on this train of thought, please take a look and leave your appreciation.

I spend a lot of time talking to people and reading social media boards by both polyamorous and monogamous folks. Universally, people are not as monogamous or as polyamorous as they claim they are.…

Source: You Are Not as Poly or Mono As You Think

One thought on “You Are Not as Poly or Mono As You Think

  1. We never are the same person from moment to moment, it’s a mental trick which is built into us through our evolution. The reality may be – MAY BE – that there is no real continuity to our lives, but if that were the case, we’d never know. I would prefer this continuity to what otherwise might be chaos of the first disorder; and within the comfort of this continiuity, I, like you, have found my / our sweet spot. Viva la sweet spot!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

