Knowing your own darkness

 

Quote - Knowing your own darkness is the best method for dealing with the darkness of other peopleI spent many years hiding things about myself that I was either not proud of or thought other people wouldn’t understand.

I’ve found as I’ve grown older, I’ve been able to come to terms with many of these personal issues and that has made me a better, happier and more complete person.

This does therefore begs the question, can you ever really “Know someone?”.

Everyone of us how secrets that we keep for what ever reason. Understanding that sometimes have to share those parts of us with the people we chose to care about is important.

By sharing these secrets we in fact let ourselves free and embrace more of who we are. It can be like a light being switched on or a key turning within a lock.

We must therefore be careful who we trust and mindful of how we may be perceived. Being guarded is natural, over defensive is destructive.

One of the blogs I follow has a good post on this subject and opens with the following quote.

“I feel like I spend a lot of time wondering if people understand me, if they know me. But to (mis)quote Bret Easton Ellis in The Rules of Attraction, “no one will ever know anyone.And he’s right you know. It’s sad but true.”

 

Source: Knowing people and not in the biblical sense (sorry, that would be much more interesting, I know)

3 thoughts on “Knowing your own darkness

  1. “Hey baby. Let’s get Old Testament up in here and know each other.”
    Um… anyway. Total dork moment ^.^

    I used to keep my secrets well guarded. I didn’t talk about being trans, I didn’t talk about having bipolar/anxiety/hallucinations/paranoia, I kept most of my life quiet. I’ve found, ever since opening up more, I certainly have less friends, but the ones that I do have, we have a much stronger tie with each other than I’ve had with other people.

    Good post, as always, thank you for writing this blog ^.^ Have a beautiful day sunshine, take gentle care of yourself, hope the NRE is still flowing beautifully!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

