Polyamory Isn’t Cheating

UnfaithfulOne thing in this world I cannot stand is cheating and therefore the whole suggestion of polyamory as a form of cheating annoys me intensely.

I then started looking at the definition of the term ‘unfaithful’ and suddenly realised why some people may consider it in this way.

unfaithful

(ŭn-fāth′fəl) adj.

1.

a. Not adhering to promises, obligations, or allegiances; disloyal.

b. Breaking trust in a marriage or relationship by having sexual relations with someone other than one’s spouse or sexual partner.

 

The very words within the dictionary definition are written with a monogamous presumption in place and just fails to take into account the possibility of multiple relationships and partners by consent.

So I decided to try and re-write the dictionary definition.

“Breaking trust in a relationship of any form by having sexual relations with someone other than one’s spouse(s)  or sexual partner(s) without prior discussion or agreement that such an act is acceptable within the confines of the relationship.”

This whole train of thought was triggered by a post that caught my interest in the reader feed, this is actually a subject that I was only yesterday having a conversation about with someone new to the wonderful world of polyamory.

Have a read and see what you think 🙂

“Polyamory is NOT a form of cheating. I’ll repeat myself for those of you delinquents in the back. POLYAMORY IS NOT A FORM OF CHEATING!!!! Polyamory is – Polyamory (from Greek πολύ poly,…”

Source: Polyamory Isn’t Cheating

6 thoughts on “Polyamory Isn’t Cheating

      1. You’re welcome.

        People are afraid of change. They’ve had something drilled into their head for so many years that they can’t begin to process that there may be a different way. It disrupts the familiar. It’s all quite sad really.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I had to defend this so many times. People just don’t get the fact that we have a very open and honest relationship. They can’t understand it, yet they confess to be the poster couple of the best relationship ever. Yet they don’t talk to one another. Its all about secrets and lies. I am forwarding your blog to some of my friends who need a wake up call. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This. This. This. This, oh yeah… and this. The connection to the two has always made me mad. I have a serious, serious problem with cheating, and hell no, I don’t cheat just because I’m open to multiple partners… *grrrr*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

